EHU's Senate is the University's body of academic self-governance. All faculty working at the University under employment contracts of at least 27 hours per week as well as five student representatives and the Chief for Academic Affairs are members of the Senate.

The Senate is responsible for assessing research results and the level of the University's scientific and artistic activities, internal quality assurance, determining procedures for admission to study programs, qualification requirements for teaching and academic staff positions, establishing rules for the awarding of the title of Professor Emeritus, suggesting candidates for honorary titles of the University, and preparing the Code of Academic Ethics and Teaching and Learning Regulations for approval by the University Council.

The Chair of the Senate is Professor Emeritus Ryhor Miniankou and Senate Vice-Chair is Professor Almira Ousmanova.

Co-financed by:European Commission